Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Chapter Committees
Share |

WHAT MAKES A SUCCESSFUL CHAPTER? β€” YOU DO!

The success of every great event depends upon more than one person. Your help is essential. The Chapter consists of several hundred members and in order to provide the wonderful educational programs and events, committees are necessary to assist the Board. There are tasks of all sizes to fit your busy schedule, some activities are one-time events, some are on-going, some occur in different times of the year, some just need a person to make phone calls, write an article, or greet attendees at a registration table. Below are the list of committees and the respective chairperson. Read the descriptions below, contact the chairperson(s) for more information and say β€œYes!” to meeting new people, making our Chapter better, and enriching your life! 

 

BUSINESS PARTNER RELATIONS COMMITTEE

Members serving on the Business Partner Committee assist in planning the Chapter's Bi-annual Educational Conference and Business Partner Expo; speak with business partners about sponsorship and advertising opportunities; publicize and promote the Chapter to the legal and business partners community; and obtain business partner sponsorship for educational events. This committee is important to the success of the Chapter as the sponsorships enable funding for speakers, scholarships and other events. Be a part of this committee and learn how valuable our business partners are to the Chapter.

     
Anna Sorensen    businesspartners@alachicago.org    Tel: 312.964.3504
     

 

COMMUNICATIONS/WEBSITE COMMITTEE

Committee members will assist in the routine maintenance of both the Chapter website and the Chapter's listserv databases. Members also will participate in website initiatives and projects as directed by the Board.

     
Michelle Howe    michelle.howe@dbr.com    Tel: 312.569.1804
     

DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION COMMITTEE

The Diversity and Inclusion Committee strives to foster inclusion by creating an awareness and appreciation for the value of diverse perspectives in all aspects of the legal profession. This committee is responsible for providing the educational resources, programming and training necessary to support our members in the recruitment, retention and development of a diverse workforce. Our commitment to advancing diversity and inclusion extends beyond our membership to include our business partners, vendors, and the overall legal community.

For more information, please contact staff@alachicago.org.

 

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

This committee is responsible for the education of the Chapter. The Professional Development Director works with the Advisors (Operations/Communications, Finance, Human Resources and Legal Industry/Business) to plan the Bi-Monthly Chapter Luncheons and other educational events. Also, every other year, an educational conference is held and this committee is responsible for planning the topics and speakers for that event. Committee members are asked to assist in determining education topics of interest for our members, identifying motivating and enlightening speakers, planning and coordinating all the logistics for the luncheons and registering and welcoming members to our sessions. This Committee is a great opportunity for someone who enjoys networking, event planning, good food and good people!

     
Patti Winter, CLM    professionaldevelopment@alachicago.org    Tel: 312.863.5006
Diane Brummel    dbrummel@salawus.com    Tel: 312-894-3200
Andrea Gordon    agordon@porterwright.com    Tel: 312-756-8472
Michael Hill    MHill@gouldratner.com    Tel: 312-228-4527
Kasia Johnson    KJohnson@hmblaw.com    Tel: 312-281-1110
Bill Mech    William.Mech@goldbergkohn.com    Tel: 312-201-3950
Edith Valdes    evaldes@hmblaw.com    Tel: 312-281-1113
     

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

As part of this committee, you will have the opportunity to welcome new members by making a welcome phone call; greeting them at meetings; sending a welcome email; or introducing them to other members at an event. The committee prepares Member Profiles for the bi-monthly newsletter and assists with various membership drives to increase chapter membership and encourage existing members to renew.

General Inquiries    membership@alachicago.org    Tel: 888.667.6430
Kat Denk    kat.denk@bclplaw.com    Tel: 312.602.5035
Doug Conomy    dconomy@btlaw.com    Tel: 312-214-5647
Maria Frias-Lopez    mariafrias-lopez@okeefe-law.com    Tel: 312-422-9239
Tonja Pellegrino    tpellegrino@perkinscoie.com    Tel: 312-263-5882
Kristi Seaton    kseaton@hlerk.com    Tel: 847-670-9000
Drema Woldman    drema.woldman@quarles.com    Tel: 312-715-5011
     

NEWSLETTER COMMITTEE

This is your opportunity to assist in the preparation of our award-winning newsletter! Committee members can write articles; interview members and business partners; take pictures of Chapter meetings, activities and events; assist in editing and proofreading; and ensure that all ALA and Chapter events are advertised. If being involved in getting the latest ALA news out to the membership interests you, this is the committee for you.

     
Betsy Kopczynski    BKopczynski@ebglaw.com Tel: 312.499.1475
Kat Denk    kat.denk@bclplaw.com Tel: 312.602.5035
Maria Frias-Lopez    mariafrias-lopez@okeefe-law.com Tel: 312-422-9239
Jane Klenck    jane.klenck@huschblackwell.com Tel: 312.662.4662
Ana Parada    aparada@fvldlaw.com Tel: 312.701.6886
     

SURVEY COMMITTEE

Committee members assist in the design and review of the Chapter's annual compensation survey, bi-annual benefits survey and any other opinion surveys for members and business partners. They also encourage others to participate in the various surveys, including phone calls, emails, and announcements at meetings. Surveys are an important way for the Chapter to determine if the needs of the members and business partners are being met.

     
Barb Javorcic    bjavorcic@marshallip.com    Tel: 312.474-9533